EXOME

all the information, none of the junk | biotech • healthcare • life sciences

FDA OKs First-in-Class Drug From Isis for Rare Cholesterol Disorder

Xconomy San Diego — 

The FDA today approved the cholesterol-lowering drug mipomersen (Kynamro)—the first major RNA therapeutic developed by Carlsbad, CA-based Isis Pharmaceuticals (NASDAQ: ISIS). Isis has been developing its lead drug candidate under a 2008 partnership with Cambridge, MA-based Genzyme, now part of the French drug giant Sanofi (NYSE: SNY).

In a statement released late today, the FDA says it has approved mipomersen as a treatment (in addition to lipid-lowering medications and diet) for patients with a rare condition that leads to very high cholesterol levels in their blood. Patients with the inherited disorder are at a higher risk of cardiovascular disease—so high, in fact, that heart attacks and death often occur before age 30.

The FDA approval triggers a $25 million milestone payment to Isis from Genzyme under terms of their 2008 partnership. Genzyme will manufacture mipomersen.

In a joint statement from Isis and Genzyme, Isis Chairman and CEO Stanley Crooke describes the drug as “the culmination of two decades of work to create a new, more efficient drug technology platform. As evidenced by our robust pipeline, our antisense drug discovery technology is applicable to many different diseases, including the treatment of a chronic and rare disease.”

The FDA approved the use of mipomersen as a once-a-week injection to lower so-called “bad cholesterol” (LDL-C) in patients with homozygous familial hypercholesterolemia (HoFH), an inherited condition that affects roughly one out of a million Americans. Patients with HoFH lack the ability to remove “bad cholesterol” from their blood, causing abnormally high levels of circulating LDL-C.

The statement also quotes Genzyme CEO David Meeker as saying, “As the leader in treatments for rare diseases, we are pleased to bring our expertise to HoFH patients living with this serious condition to better help them manage their disease.”

The drug carries a warning because it is associated with liver enzyme abnormalities and accumulation of fat in the liver, which could lead to progressive liver disease with chronic use.

By posting a comment, you agree to our terms and conditions.

One response to “FDA OKs First-in-Class Drug From Isis for Rare Cholesterol Disorder”

  1. Ways to lower Cholesterol http://nyshealth-ceic.com/ways-to-lower-cholesterol/

    How to lower Cholesterol http://nyshealth-ceic.com/how-to-lower-cholesterol/

    Best Acid Reflux Remedies http://bestacidrefluxremedies.com/

    Diet For Acid Reflux http://bestacidrefluxremedies.com/diet-for-acid-reflux/

    Treatment For Acid Reflux http://bestacidrefluxremedies.com/treatment-for-acid-reflux/

    Natural Acid Reflux Remedies http://bestacidrefluxremedies.com/natural-acid-reflux-remedies/

    Acid Reflux Home Remedies http://bestacidrefluxremedies.com/acid-reflux-home-remedies/

    How to lose weight easily http://nyshealth-ceic.com/how-to-lose-weight-easily/

    Diet Tips for Weight Loss http://nyshealth-ceic.com/diet-tips-for-weight-loss/

    How to lose weight on Treadmill http://nyshealth-ceic.com/how-to-lose-weight-on-treadmill/

    How to reduce body fat http://nyshealth-ceic.com/how-to-reduce-body-fat/

    How to avoid Obesity http://nyshealth-ceic.com/how-to-avoid-obesity/

    Healthy Diet to lose Weight http://nyshealth-ceic.com/healthy-diet-to-lose-weight/

    Tips to stay Healthy and Fit http://nyshealth-ceic.com/tips-to-stay-healthy-and-fit/

    How to keep your body healthy http://nyshealth-ceic.com/how-to-keep-your-body-healthy/

    Natural Remedy for Acne: http://nyshealth-ceic.com/natural-remedy-for-acne/

    Laser Acne Treatment http://nyshealth-ceic.com/laser-acne-treatment/

    How to treat body Acne http://nyshealth-ceic.com/how-to-treat-body-acne/

    What is Acne http://nyshealth-ceic.com/what-is-acne/

    Keeping Face Clean to get rid of Acne http://nyshealth-ceic.com/keeping-face-clean-to-get-rid-of-acne/

    How to use Acne Cream http://nyshealth-ceic.com/how-to-use-acne-cream/

    Teenage Acne Treatment http://nyshealth-ceic.com/teenage-acne-treatment/

    Green Tea Acne http://nyshealth-ceic.com/green-tea-acne/

    Acne Myths http://nyshealth-ceic.com/acne-myths/

    Adult Acne Treatment http://nyshealth-ceic.com/adult-acne-treatment/

    Natural ways to get rid of Acne http://nyshealth-ceic.com/natural-ways-to-get-rid-of-acne/

    How to Relieve Stress http://nyshealth-ceic.com/how-to-relieve-stress/

    Coping with Stress http://nyshealth-ceic.com/coping-with-stress/

    Ways to Reduce Stress http://nyshealth-ceic.com/ways-to-reduce-stress/

    Hair Loss Treatment http://nyshealth-ceic.com/hair-loss-treatment/

    Myths about Hair Loss http://nyshealth-ceic.com/myths-about-hair-loss/

    Female Hair Loss http://nyshealth-ceic.com/female-hair-loss/

    Information about Mesothelioma Law Firm, Mesothelioma Lawyer, Mesothelioma Asbestos, Mesothelioma Lawsuit, Mesothelioma Attorney, and much more http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/

    Recommendations for a Mesothelioma Lawsuit http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/recommendations-for-a-mesothelioma-lawsuit/

    Mesothelioma Law is there to entitle the individual his lawful rights http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/mesothelioma-law-is-there-to-entitle-the-individual-his-lawful-rights/

    Mesothelioma Law Company how to select the best one for you http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/mesothelioma-law-company-how-to-select-the-best-one-for-you/

    Mesothelioma Attorneys your key to rights and compensation http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/mesothelioma-attorneys-your-key-to-rights-and-compensation/

    Mesothelioma Attorney and Mesothelioma law company are the solutions to the suffering http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/mesothelioma-attorney-and-mesothelioma-law-company-are-the-solutions-to-the-suffering/

    Get paid with help from asbestos law firms http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/get-paid-with-help-from-asbestos-law-firms/

    discovering a law company in dallas for your Mesothelioma case http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/discovering-a-law-company-in-dallas-for-your-mesothelioma-case/

    Boston Mesothelioma Lawyers http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/boston-mesothelioma-lawyers/

    Asbestos Lawyer how you can discover an excellent one http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/asbestos-lawyer-how-you-can-discover-an-excellent-one/

    Asbestos law firms http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/asbestos-law-firms/

    Mesothelioma law contemporary day threats including Mesothelioma exposure http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/mesothelioma-law-contemporary-day-threats-including-mesothelioma-exposure/

    Mesothelioma law firm battling for your compensation http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/mesothelioma-law-firm-battling-for-your-compensation/

    Mesothelioma law firm http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/mesothelioma-law-firm/

    Mesothelioma law companies summary of a lawsuit http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/mesothelioma-law-companies-summary-of-a-lawsuit/

    Mesothelioma attorney discover out your possibilities of successful your mesothelioma lawsuit http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/mesothelioma-attorney-discover-out-your-possibilities-of-successful-your-mesothelioma-lawsuit/

    How to select the right Mesothelioma law firm http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/how-to-select-the-right-mesothelioma-law-firm/

    How to choose a Mesothelioma lawyer http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/how-to-choose-a-mesothelioma-lawyer/

    Discovering the right Mesothelioma Attorney http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/discovering-the-right-mesothelioma-attorney/

    Best Mesothelioma lawyers a saving elegance for Mesothelioma victims http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/best-mesothelioma-lawyers-a-saving-elegance-for-mesothelioma-victims/

    All about Mesothelioma lawyer http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/all-about-mesothelioma-lawyer/