Quanttus Dives Into Personal Health With $22M From Khosla, Matrix

Last summer, we were the first to report on a stealthy MIT startup that’s trying to become a big player in personal health and wellness. Well, that company is now one of the better-funded efforts in this emerging sector.

Quanttus, a 25-person startup based in Cambridge, MA, announced today that it has raised a $19 million Series A round from Khosla Ventures and Matrix Partners. The deal, which closed in December, comes on the heels of a $3 million seed investment from Khosla early last year. Khosla Ventures is also an investor in San Francisco-based wearables company Jawbone and Boston-born mobile health startup Ginger.io.

This is a rare case in which a startup’s financing and investors are more of a news story than what it’s actually doing. Mostly because it’s still too early for the company to say much about the latter—or about where it will play in the competitive market of health tracking and wearables.

Not that I didn’t try to draw that out of Shahid Azim (pictured), the CEO and co-founder of Quanttus. Previously he was the CEO and co-founder of Lantos Technologies, another MIT spinout that makes 3D-imaging equipment to help hearing aids and audio headsets fit better.

In early 2012, Azim says, he was intrigued by Qualcomm’s announcement of its Tricorder XPrize—a competition to design a personal-health device that can scan a patient and diagnose problems, like its “Star Trek” namesake. That was the original inspiration for Quanttus, though the company’s approach has since diverged.

Azim put together a small team of mostly MIT alums (he’s a Sloan School grad), including co-founders David He and Richard Bijjani, to see how far they could get quickly. They built on He’s PhD work at MIT on monitoring cardiovascular disease using wearable sensors. The core technology is about “passive, noninvasive, continuous monitoring,” Azim says. That’s techno-speak for something you can wear comfortably while you work, play, or sleep, and doesn’t require you to do anything special, like draw blood.

After some experiments, Quanttus developed a prototype device worn on the wrist. The hardware uses a variety of sensors—optical, accelerometer, and so forth—to measure vital signs such as heart rate, blood pressure, and respiration.

That’s no easy feat. If it were, doctors would just scan your wrist instead of putting your arm in a blood-pressure cuff and listening to your chest. A big part of Quanttus’s innovation, Azim says, is around its methods for resolving the human body’s vital signals in the presence of noise, including wrist motion when a person walks or moves around.

The other big challenge has to do with processing the data. As Azim puts it, once the hardware isolates the right signals, the company’s software needs to “add context around that” in order to generate “the right insights to induce behavior change.” In doing that, he says, “you have a shot at the Holy Grail of healthcare, which is outcomes.”

That’s pretty abstract, but it sounds like what Quanttus is doing is using machine learning and artificial-intelligence tools to get a fuller picture of a person’s health, once it has a baseline of vital signs. You could imagine, for instance, that the software can account for things like sleep quality, hydration, and exercise, and even pull in environmental factors like location, weather, and air conditions, to try to figure out why a person doesn’t feel good on a given day.

Quanttus hopes eventually to tackle serious health areas like cardiac disease, hypertension, and stress. If successful, the company will “create powerful new tools for consumers and healthcare providers that will change how we understand our health,” says lead investor Vinod Khosla, in a statement.

Azim first met Khosla, the famed VC and founding CEO of Sun Microsystems, at a mobile health conference in December 2012. … Next Page »

Single PageCurrently on Page: 1 2 3

Gregory T. Huang is Xconomy's Deputy Editor, National IT Editor, and Editor of Xconomy Boston. E-mail him at gthuang [at] xconomy.com. Follow @gthuang

Trending on Xconomy

By posting a comment, you agree to our terms and conditions.

3 responses to “Quanttus Dives Into Personal Health With $22M From Khosla, Matrix”

  1. Information about Mesothelioma Law Firm, Mesothelioma Lawyer, Mesothelioma Asbestos, Mesothelioma Lawsuit, Mesothelioma Attorney, and much more http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/

    Best Acid Reflux Remedies http://bestacidrefluxremedies.com/

    Diet For Acid Reflux http://bestacidrefluxremedies.com/diet-for-acid-reflux/

    Treatment For Acid Reflux http://bestacidrefluxremedies.com/treatment-for-acid-reflux/

    Natural Acid Reflux Remedies http://bestacidrefluxremedies.com/natural-acid-reflux-remedies/

    Acid Reflux Home Remedies http://bestacidrefluxremedies.com/acid-reflux-home-remedies/

    How to lose weight easily http://nyshealth-ceic.com/how-to-lose-weight-easily/

    Diet Tips for Weight Loss http://nyshealth-ceic.com/diet-tips-for-weight-loss/

    How to lose weight on Treadmill http://nyshealth-ceic.com/how-to-lose-weight-on-treadmill/

    How to reduce body fat http://nyshealth-ceic.com/how-to-reduce-body-fat/

    How to avoid Obesity http://nyshealth-ceic.com/how-to-avoid-obesity/

    Healthy Diet to lose Weight http://nyshealth-ceic.com/healthy-diet-to-lose-weight/

    Tips to stay Healthy and Fit http://nyshealth-ceic.com/tips-to-stay-healthy-and-fit/

    How to keep your body healthy http://nyshealth-ceic.com/how-to-keep-your-body-healthy/

    Natural Remedy for Acne: http://nyshealth-ceic.com/natural-remedy-for-acne/

    Laser Acne Treatment http://nyshealth-ceic.com/laser-acne-treatment/

    How to treat body Acne http://nyshealth-ceic.com/how-to-treat-body-acne/

    What is Acne http://nyshealth-ceic.com/what-is-acne/

    Keeping Face Clean to get rid of Acne http://nyshealth-ceic.com/keeping-face-clean-to-get-rid-of-acne/

    How to use Acne Cream http://nyshealth-ceic.com/how-to-use-acne-cream/

    Teenage Acne Treatment http://nyshealth-ceic.com/teenage-acne-treatment/

    Green Tea Acne http://nyshealth-ceic.com/green-tea-acne/

    Acne Myths http://nyshealth-ceic.com/acne-myths/

    Adult Acne Treatment http://nyshealth-ceic.com/adult-acne-treatment/

    Natural ways to get rid of Acne http://nyshealth-ceic.com/natural-ways-to-get-rid-of-acne/

    How to Relieve Stress http://nyshealth-ceic.com/how-to-relieve-stress/

    Coping with Stress http://nyshealth-ceic.com/coping-with-stress/

    Ways to Reduce Stress http://nyshealth-ceic.com/ways-to-reduce-stress/

    Stress Relief Techniques http://nyshealth-ceic.com/stress-relief-techniques/

    Hair Loss Treatment http://nyshealth-ceic.com/hair-loss-treatment/

    Myths about Hair Loss http://nyshealth-ceic.com/myths-about-hair-loss/

    Female Hair Loss http://nyshealth-ceic.com/female-hair-loss/

    Ways to lower Cholesterol http://nyshealth-ceic.com/ways-to-lower-cholesterol/

    How to lower Cholesterol http://nyshealth-ceic.com/how-to-lower-cholesterol/

    Cold Sore Causes http://nyshealth-ceic.com/cold-sore-causes/

    Stress Management Techniques http://nyshealth-ceic.com/stress-management-techniques/

    Cosmetic Hair Loss Solution http://nyshealth-ceic.com/cosmetic-hair-loss-solution/

    Mesothelioma Cancer Symptoms http://nyshealth-ceic.com/mesothelioma-cancer-symptoms/

    Best Herbal Medicine for Cold http://nyshealth-ceic.com/best-herbal-medicine-for-cold/

    Importance of Clean Water http://nyshealth-ceic.com/importance-of-clean-water/

    Cold or Sinus Infection http://nyshealth-ceic.com/cold-or-sinus-infection/

    Bird Flu http://nyshealth-ceic.com/bird-flu/

    Symptoms of Influenza http://nyshealth-ceic.com/symptoms-of-influenza/

    What does Heartburn Feel Like? http://nyshealth-ceic.com/what-does-heartburn-feel-like/

    Obesity in America http://nyshealth-ceic.com/obesity-in-america/

    Recommendations for a Mesothelioma Lawsuit http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/recommendations-for-a-mesothelioma-lawsuit/

    Mesothelioma Law is there to entitle the individual his lawful rights http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/mesothelioma-law-is-there-to-entitle-the-individual-his-lawful-rights/

    Mesothelioma Law Company how to select the best one for you http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/mesothelioma-law-company-how-to-select-the-best-one-for-you/

    Mesothelioma Attorneys your key to rights and compensation http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/mesothelioma-attorneys-your-key-to-rights-and-compensation/

    Mesothelioma Attorney and Mesothelioma law company are the solutions to the suffering http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/mesothelioma-attorney-and-mesothelioma-law-company-are-the-solutions-to-the-suffering/

    Get paid with help from asbestos law firms http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/get-paid-with-help-from-asbestos-law-firms/

    discovering a law company in dallas for your Mesothelioma case http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/discovering-a-law-company-in-dallas-for-your-mesothelioma-case/

    Boston Mesothelioma Lawyers http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/boston-mesothelioma-lawyers/

    Asbestos Lawyer how you can discover an excellent one http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/asbestos-lawyer-how-you-can-discover-an-excellent-one/

    Asbestos law firms http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/asbestos-law-firms/

    Mesothelioma law contemporary day threats including Mesothelioma exposure http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/mesothelioma-law-contemporary-day-threats-including-mesothelioma-exposure/

    Mesothelioma law firm battling for your compensation http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/mesothelioma-law-firm-battling-for-your-compensation/

    Mesothelioma law firm http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/mesothelioma-law-firm/

    Mesothelioma law companies summary of a lawsuit http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/mesothelioma-law-companies-summary-of-a-lawsuit/

    Mesothelioma attorney discover out your possibilities of successful your mesothelioma lawsuit http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/mesothelioma-attorney-discover-out-your-possibilities-of-successful-your-mesothelioma-lawsuit/

    How to select the right Mesothelioma law firm http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/how-to-select-the-right-mesothelioma-law-firm/

    How to choose a Mesothelioma lawyer http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/how-to-choose-a-mesothelioma-lawyer/

    Discovering the right Mesothelioma Attorney http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/discovering-the-right-mesothelioma-attorney/

    Best Mesothelioma lawyers a saving elegance for Mesothelioma victims http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/best-mesothelioma-lawyers-a-saving-elegance-for-mesothelioma-victims/

    All about Mesothelioma lawyer http://greatmesotheliomalawfirm.com/all-about-mesothelioma-lawyer/

  2. Keen says:

    Welcome to Red Ocean. The only way to survive is to get sold to some other companies. Good luck.

  3. zapteka says:

    This is a rare case in which a startup’s financing and investors are more of a news story than what it’s actually doing